Garden State workers are about to see more green.
The minimum wage for a lot of New Jersey workers will increase by $1 in 2020 to $11 an hour, state authorities revealed on Tuesday.
” Our company believe that every resident deserves the opportunity to join the middle class,” said Gov. Phil Murphy. “Our development on reasonable and fair incomes demonstrates our state’s dedication to fighting for economic justice and stronger and fairer economy that works for every household.”
The walking is the first step in the state’s push toward an eventual $15 base pay by 2024, Murphy stated.
While the majority of New Jerseyans will discover their wallets a little heavier on Jan. 1, some employees will initially see only a smaller sized increase. Seasonal employees and those who work for companies with fewer than 6 companies will see a walking to $10.30.
“We praise Gov. Murphy’s management in enacting a $15 minimum wage law, and will continue. to intensely examine wage and hour complaints,” stated Labor Commissioner Robert Asaro-Angelo.